Home U.S. Coin Forum

New Trade Dollar

skier07skier07 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭✭✭
I've always been fascinated by trade dollars and this will be my first.

This was part of a silver lot in a bankruptcy auction.

I think it's real but I'm no expert. The coin looks better in person. The photos were
taken outside on a overcast day.

Thanks for looking. Feedback greatly appreciated.

I'm working on my pictures

Bruce

Comments

• stealerstealer Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭✭
    Looks funky to me.

• COALPORTERCOALPORTER Posts: 2,900 ✭✭
    looks real to me.
  • TennesseeDaveTennesseeDave Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Most 77-P's come very weakly struck,especially the obverse. Yours looks somewhat suspicious in the pics,however it's not a date that I see faked that often,so it may be real.
    Trade $'s
  • AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,732 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks legit and XF. I like the look but the pics could be a bit better. I
    doubt that it is blue in color.

bobimage
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • cool coin, Real and well struck which is scarce. XF45
  • DUIGUYDUIGUY Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭
    Authentic and a very decent strike for a 77. image
    “A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly."

- Marcus Tullius Cicero, 106-43 BC
  • DoubleEagle59DoubleEagle59 Posts: 8,275 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I vote the coin is real but the picture is Fake.
    "Gold is money, and nothing else" (JP Morgan, 1912)

"“Those who sacrifice liberty for security/safety deserve neither.“(Benjamin Franklin)

"I only golf on days that end in 'Y'" (DE59)
  • robkoolrobkool Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A genuine XF40 trade dollar...
  • WTCGWTCG Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭
    Can't tell for sure by the pictures but the authenticity looks suspicious.
    Follow me on Twitter @wtcgroup