Home U.S. Coin Forum

1874-CC Trade dollar...Real or fake?

crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,955 ✭✭✭✭✭
A friend of mine took a chance and bought a Carson City trade dollar. He has just brought it over for a look see, but I'm pretty sure it's a fake, but to be sure I just thought I would ask the experts on this forum. Thanks a bunch for your opinion.....Joe

imageimage

Weight = 27 grams

imageimage
The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.

Comments

• llafoellafoe Posts: 7,220 ✭✭
    I vote fake.
    WANTED: Cincinnati Reds TEAM Cards
  • BlindedByEgoBlindedByEgo Posts: 10,754 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Bad fake.
  • Batman23Batman23 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I am not an expert on these but it looks fake to me.
  • Halfhunter06Halfhunter06 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭
    the CC is all wrong and the relief is too shallow, i vote fake
    Here is one I just got rid of.
    imageimage
  • DoubleEagle59DoubleEagle59 Posts: 8,275 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Fake for sure.
    "Gold is money, and nothing else" (JP Morgan, 1912)

"“Those who sacrifice liberty for security/safety deserve neither.“(Benjamin Franklin)

"I only golf on days that end in 'Y'" (DE59)
  • WoodenJeffersonWoodenJefferson Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭✭
    Oh my, the reverse, but as I found out ATS TDN is only one qualified enough to give a definitive answer.
    Chat Board Lingo

"Keep your malarkey filter in good operating order" -Walter Breen
  • dcarrdcarr Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Positively fake. No doubt at all.
  • coindeucecoindeuce Posts: 13,474 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Bogus, dude.

"Everything is on its way to somewhere. Everything." - George Malley, Phenomenon
    http://www.americanlegacycoins.com

• << <i>Positively fake. No doubt at all. >>

i am with him
  • lkeigwinlkeigwin Posts: 16,892 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not sure I like it either but how about some reasons?
    Lance.
  • adamlaneusadamlaneus Posts: 6,969 ✭✭✭
    I don't know.