Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Card Inflation?

Anyone who follows the commodity markets knows that prices have increased significantly since the summer and are forecast to go higher in 2011. One of the reason cited is the amount of cash the Fed is printing is causing investors to speculate on commodities to get a higher return. The art and historical antique market is strong, is the sportscard market next?

During the crash of late 2007-2009, graded sportscard actually did pretty good compared to real estate and stocks. It could have been a delayed effect since the overall card market seems to be down. Compared to other investments sportscards have good liquidity.

So is it a good time to buy?
Mike

Comments

• Options
    This is the best time to buy imo. i have been collecting slabs for 5+ years now, and the prices have never been lower.

That being said, it is tougher and tougher to find eBay sellers with the stones to list true auctions.

Big Fan of: HOF Post War RC, Graded RCs
    WTB: PSA 1 - PSA 3 Centered, High Eye Appeal 1950's Mantle
  • Options
    WinPitcherWinPitcher Posts: 27,726 ✭✭✭
    It's always a good time to buy.

As long as you buy properly graded material.

And as long as you pay what you feel is proper value.

Good for you.
  • Options
    digicatdigicat Posts: 8,551 ✭✭

<< <i>So is it a good time to buy? >>

Depends. If you're collecting vintage HoFers, maybe. If you're thinking of buying "low pop" graded commons, then no.
    My Giants collection want list

WTB: 2001 Leaf Rookies & Stars Longevity: Ryan Jensen #/25
  • Options
    RipublicaninMassRipublicaninMass Posts: 10,051 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Anyone who follows the commodity markets knows that prices have increased significantly since the summer and are forecast to go higher in 2011. >>

(card) prices have never been lower.

As a great man once said "I can't eat my cards, so I am auctioning off all my auto'd 52's"

• Options
    chaz43chaz43 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭