Home U.S. Coin Forum

1857 Large Cent 'small date' question

I purchased this coin this past summer from a Heritage auction:

This coin is an old little white Anacs holder AU-50. Anyways, my question about this coin...could this be a circulated proof? I've owned several 1857 Large and Small date, Large cents over the years...and this one stuck out to me due to the very strong strike on the reverse. All of my previous MS, AU and XF examples had mushy reverses. The obverse leads me to believe it is not since, since 10 of the 13 stars are softly struck...but I'm hoping an expert can chime in. Thanks!

Comments

• Walkerguy21DWalkerguy21D Posts: 11,367 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm no expert, but I'd have to agree that it's not a proof.....I also think it may be recolored, but that may be from the photo. But otherwise it's certainly an attractive example of a low mintage date.
    Successful BST transactions with 171 members. Ebeneezer, Tonedeaf, Shane6596, Piano1, Ikenefic, RG, PCGSPhoto, stman, Don'tTelltheWife, Boosibri, Ron1968, snowequities, VTchaser, jrt103, SurfinxHI, 78saen, bp777, FHC, RYK, JTHawaii, Opportunity, Kliao, bigtime36, skanderbeg, split37, thebigeng, acloco, Toninginthblood, OKCC, braddick, Coinflip, robcool, fastfreddie, tightbudget, DBSTrader2, nickelsciolist, relaxn, Eagle eye, soldi, silverman68, ElKevvo, sawyerjosh, Schmitz7, talkingwalnut2, konsole, sharkman987, sniocsu, comma, jesbroken, David1234, biosolar, Sullykerry, Moldnut, erwindoc, MichaelDixon, GotTheBug
  • renomedphysrenomedphys Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Well struck. I like it! I don't think it's a proof. It almost looks like the same die as the N-3 proof, but the date still looks slightly misplaced with regard to the bottom denticles on your coin. Here's an N-3 for camparison:

• PatchesPatches Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭