Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

New sheriff in town at the pcgs grading room????

OK, So I'm not an expert on all things numismatic......but I did get restarted into collecting because of the statehood quarter series. My registry set (bu strike only) is currently ranked #28 out of however many there are. I haven't been keeping up with it as much as I had in the past - the SF decision by the mint dampened my enthusiasm, as well as the quality of business strike coins.
However, the results of my latest SHQ submission is truly baffling. I sent in a few coins that I needed to fill empty spots, and also some that I have been holding on to as strong candidates to upgrade older dates. Either somebody doesn't like me, or there is a mandate to get some resubmissions and increase revenue!
For those that can view submissions results - I have shared my 4 previous SHQ submission results:
order # 3490095 sub # 20032368
order # 4184180 sub # 20417907
order # 3963358 sub # 20278352
order # 3758284 sub # 20263320

Now, my latest results; again - some of these were coins that I thought had a chance to go MS68!!

order # 4172291 sub # 20456406

Maybe it's just me, but after all these years, and all those quarters, I don't think so.........my last MS64 was a DE-D in May of 2006 - I was trying to put together a complete 1999 set in MS65.
Oh well - a crackin' I will go!

Anybody else notice a tightening of the 'screws' lately?
Don't you know that it's worth
every treasure on Earth
to be young at heart?
And as rich as you are,
it's much better by far,
to be young at heart!

Comments

• ..was , is , and always will be ......... a crap shoot
  • I understand that it all depends on who picks up that box and what they feel like that day, but after all those years of consistency, it just seems awfully strange to get those grades back.
    Try, try again!
    Don't you know that it's worth
    every treasure on Earth
    to be young at heart?
    And as rich as you are,