Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

My latest E-bay find:1874-P Trade $UPDATE:PCGS grades are in!!!!

TennesseeDaveTennesseeDave Posts: 4,743 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have been putting together an Everymans set of Trade $'s for the past 2 years and have found that the 74-P is very elusive.I do have a VF-35(Pcgs) that I bought raw,but last week saw this for a fair BIN price so I bought it.Not sure why 74-P is so hard to find with a mintage of almost 1 million.In hand the coin looks very nice and unmessed with.What are your opinions.Thanks in advance!

Trade $'s

Comments

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,539 ✭✭✭✭✭
    First I've seen, real that is, with so many wheat stalks missing. I wonder if
    1: It's a trait for 1874p.
    2: It's a weak strike that just shows up in that area but not the reverse.
    3: It's a Chinese fake that is over the wall good.
    4: It's a lousy pic and the stalks are actually there.

bobimageimage
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    Sorry,I was trying to add to AuandAg's post.
    Trade $'s
  • Options

<< <i>First I've seen, real that is, with so many wheat stalks missing. I wonder if
    1: It's a trait for 1874p.
    2: It's a weak strike that just shows up in that area but not the reverse.
    3: It's a Chinese fake that is over the wall good.
    4: It's a lousy pic and the stalks are actually there.

I was concerned about that as well,but they are there.
    Trade $'s
  • Options
    stealerstealer Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭✭
    Something doesn't look right about that coin in my opinion. Like AUandAG said the wheat stalks look way too weak to be real. The eagle's eye doesn't look right either.

What worries me the most is highlighted.

• Options
    DIMEMANDIMEMAN Posts: 22,403 ✭✭✭✭✭

I like it, but what do I know about T dollars!
  • Options
    Tdec1000Tdec1000 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭
    Looks real to me! Nice Circ Dollar!