Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Is this 1964 Phil Niekro card a forgery??

A few months ago I participated in a private signing for Phil Niekro that was set up by a SCN member. There had been problems with the signing since day one. I finally got my card back after about a 2 month wait. The card that I received back is definitely not the same card that was sent in. At first I was just happy to get a rc back signed. After closer inspection I have concerns that the card I was sent might actually be a counterfeit. Something about the card just seems a little off to me. I am far from an expert when it comes to 1964 Topps. I am pretty sure the signature is authentic but I was wondering if I could get some opinions on whether or not the card is legit. If anyone could give me their opinion I would really appreciate it.

Comments

• Options
    jswietonjswieton Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭
    I just got this reply back from the guy who set up the signing. I love how he acts like it is my fault the signing got screwed up. How does he not know what I paid for the autograph since he was the one setting it up. I am very confused.

"How much did you pay for the card and the autograph....im so over this fu%#ing thing. Just give me the total and Ill give you your money so you arent out a dime and you have what is apparently a counterfit niekro rc signed."
  • Options
    brendanb438brendanb438 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭
    Sounds like an admission of guilt. Makes yeah wonder if the auto is even legit.
  • Options
    I guess he needs to know what you paid for the card itself since he has no way of knowing that.
  • Options
    al032184al032184 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭
    Tell him to take his long-winded 'sincere' apology and shove it.
  • Options
    MooseDogMooseDog Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭
    There is no conceivable reason why anyone would forge a Phil Niekro autograph. Likely one of the most common HOF signatures on the planet.
  • Options
    VitoCo1972VitoCo1972 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭
  • Options