Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Rotated dies (looking for some insights)

OK, this is how I do it. Stand the obverse straight up in the 2x2, securely staple it in, then flip the coin N-S. That's how I measure it. All it requires is a knowledge of how the obverse stands, N-S.

OK, question: supposing I have a 90 degree CCW, how do I know that's not really a 270 degree CW?

Related questions: which die is rotated, or can't one tell, or can both dies be rotated, simultaneously?

Or, what about just this: how do rotated dies happen? I'll take it from there... image

Comments

• Options
    goodmoney4badmoneygoodmoney4badmoney Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭✭
    The rotation description should be to 180 degrees CW or CCW in my opinion. There is almost always no way to know with die was actually rotated.
  • Options
    mcarney1173mcarney1173 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Usually, any coin is somewhere between 0 and 180 degrees.
  • Options
    coindeucecoindeuce Posts: 13,471 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Die rotation for U.S. coin production would occur exclusively on the anvil die.

"Everything is on its way to somewhere. Everything." - George Malley, Phenomenon
    http://www.americanlegacycoins.com

• Options
    OK, 0-180, that's good, that's how these should be described. I guess I wasn't thinking...

For coindeuce: why would the anvil be the one to be apt to be rotating; also, can one assume the hammer will always hold the obverse and the anvil will always hold the reverse? If you know...
  • Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,550 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>OK, 0-180, that's good, that's how these should be described. I guess I wasn't thinking...

For coindeuce: why would the anvil be the one to be apt to be rotating; also, can one assume the hammer will always hold the obverse and the anvil will always hold the reverse? If you know... >>

The assumption is that if the hammer die were loose enough to rotate, it would fall out.