Home Precious Metals
Options

A question from a novice

I've read about gold prices being manipulated to keep the price of gold lower so the banks/countries can buy more of it.
My question is, if they really are manipulating it to keep it lower, then why has gold risen so much during the manipulation ?

TIA

Comments

• Options
    jmski52jmski52 Posts: 22,382 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Gold hasn't been rising. The dollar has been falling.image
    Q: Are You Printing Money? Bernanke: Not Literally

I knew it would happen.
  • Options
    CiccioCiccio Posts: 1,405

<< <i>I've read about gold prices being manipulated to keep the price of gold lower so the banks/countries can buy more of it.
    My question is, if they really are manipulating it to keep it lower, then why has gold risen so much during the manipulation ?

TIA >>

I am a novice too, but for what I understood gold should be now over $2000, due to inflation and other factors.
    Sorry I can't explain it better, but somebody here will tell you why.

I am glad is not, so I can buy more! image
  • Options
    roadrunnerroadrunner Posts: 28,303 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I've read about gold prices being manipulated to keep the price of gold lower so the banks/countries can buy more of it.

How much higher would it be now if there were no bank manipulations? $1500? $2000? Suffice to say the banks are managing a steady fall in the dollar / rise in gold rather than letting chaos ensue without any brakes applied. The dollar is driving this issue not gold. So it's really been a matter of the bankers cushioning the dollar fall since 2001. The net result has been a cushioned gold rise.