Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

What is the best way to open bank rolls?

I have just received two rolls of Ohio state quarters and am going to try to make my own high grade coins for my registry set. The problem is I have never done this before and was wondering if I could get some suggestions on the best way to open them without marking up the coins and/or having other coins clanking on others as they fall out. I appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Chris
I am waiting to restart my mint State Quarters Registry Set.

Comments

• Options
    itsnotjustmeitsnotjustme Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭
    I just pick at one of the rolled ends to start it, then unroll the entire length slowly. I stop as the coins begin to come loose, and leave it lying on the table, and make sure my two year old is no where in sight. Then I remove a coin at a time from the end. I can dismiss a coin in a few seconds, but making a coin a "candidate" requires 20 seconds with a loupe. Deciding to submit it takes more time comparing to already slabbed MS67 coins, that being the target grade. I did this with 8 rolls of TN-D quarters, had about 2 candidates/roll (16 coins), and finally picked 7 to slab. The results: 6xMS67, 1xMS66. That make me pretty confident the other candidates would have been primarily MS66 coins.

Chris--are you addrian from e-bay?
    Give Blood (Red Bags) & Platelets (Yellow Bags)!
  • Options
    FlashFlash Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭
    Just crack it open by banging it hard on the edge of the table. image
    Matt
  • Options
    gripgrip Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I do it this way.open up the end only.Than turn them upside down pressing on about a 1/4 of the roll so they come out all at once,should have 4 stacks with no banging.I do the same for tubes but stop them with my fingers on the edge of the coins works for meimage.Al
  • Options
    mrpaseomrpaseo Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭