Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

PSA Registry set purchase question.

I figured this might be the correct forum to ask registry questions, I am fairly new to the PSA registry game.

Contemplating to purchase a '54 topps baseball set already graded, this is my favorite Topps issue i'd certainly enjoy it.
However how risky is it in terms of resale value, difficulty of sale.

Let's assume the set is purchased below SMR and it is a low/mid grade condition.

I have already disregarded the option of piecing the set together myself as I figure it'd be a lot more cost effective to buy a set outright.

Thoughts?

Or should I save myself the burden of owning a set. =)

CU Ancient Members badge member.

Collection: https://flickr.com/photos/185200668@N06/albums

Comments

• Options
    DavemriDavemri Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭
    SMR is irrelevent. Check the prices according to VCP to see what kind of price you should be looking at. You can get a 1 day membership for $3.99 I think? THat would be well worth it..

Dave

FINISHED 12/8/2008!!!
  • Options
    markj111markj111 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

<< <i>SMR is irrelevent. Check the prices according to VCP to see what kind of price you should be looking at. You can get a 1 day membership for $3.99 I think? THat would be well worth it..

Dave >>

What he said. SMR means nothing. If you use it, you will get burned.
  • Options
    1960toppsguy1960toppsguy Posts: 1,130 ✭✭
    Just like a stock, if you BUY it, it is sure to go down in value but that's not important if it's something you like alot.
  • Options
    thehallmarkthehallmark Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭
    If it's priced right and you have the means, buy the set and then upgrade the cards slowly over time. This way, you'll have the beauties to look at right now AND you'll have a long term goal as well.

Oh, and you absolutely MUST find an unopened pack of 1954 Topps to go with your set. That's the cherry on top of every vintage set.