Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

New to Vintage, Please Help me with 1955 Topps

Hello all. I am completely new to vintage though not to the hobby

This forum seems like a great place to find out info.

I am interested in putting together the 1955 Topps Set in PSA 5/6.
First off, will it make a huge difference in value if I go all PSA 5 or PSA 6 as opposed to a mixed set of 5/6?
How much do qualifiers affect values (I didn't even know what a Qualifier was until yesterday)
Do complete PSA sets have decent resale value?
Is SMR accurate? It says a PSA 6 set should be like 6500+. Is this true?
Any good places to buy besides ebay?
Is there anything at all I should know about this set, or vintage, or psa grading, or anything you might think is useful to me?
How much do you think it will cost for the mixed 5/6 set?
Thanks for all the help

Zach

Comments

• Options
    KbKardsKbKards Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭
    Mixed 5-6 set is fine. In that grade stay away from qualified cards. Complete set have resale value but the way you're assembling it you won't make money. The SMR totals will end up being a pretty accurate average. Card by card the SMR will be high and low. You will also have $500-$1000 in shipping alone if you buy it card by card on Ebay. For deals contact the sellers off line to put a package deal together.
  • Options
    Why will I not be making money? Is it because I'd be acquiring them individually for the most part? I would try and find lots to move it a long, and some members here can certainly help me out. Either way, I am NOT doing this to re-sell, though it's possible that I may need to at some point, or if I lose interest.

I know of a Clemente PSA 6 for $1K, but the centering isn't great. Is this price worth it or should I hold off for something better?

Thanks for all the help.
  • Options
    MCMLVToppsMCMLVTopps Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Zach,

First off, will it make a huge difference in value if I go all PSA 5 or PSA 6 as opposed to a mixed set of 5/6?