Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Alexander the Great Tetradrachm... how did I do?

I'm just starting out with ancients. I'm most attracted to the Greek tetradrachms. I picked this piece up at a show today for $875.... how did I do?

Comments

• STONESTONE Posts: 15,275
    Macedonian Kings, Alexander the Great

Will, this is a popular issue among collectors for both the size of the coin and the design elements.
    Although not "common" by today's standards, they seem to be relatively available in the market.
    The price you paid seems pretty good for what appears to be an Unc/AU specimen.

• Silvereagle82Silvereagle82 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭
    I say you did .... A+image
  • HussuloHussulo Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭
    I don't know much about ancients but I really like the design of that one. Amazing detail.

• coinkatcoinkat Posts: 22,721 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nice looking coin- not sure of the value- maybe CIVITAS, among others, will help on that score

Experience the World through Numismatics...it's more than you can imagine.

• JZraritiesJZrarities Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭
    Nice piece. I think you did great.
    I don't have a copy of the 'Price' book to lookup the mint.
    Was the mint location listed on the flip, as I don't recognize the circle under the chair
    and nothing in the field under the eagle.

Here's a good Alexander website

And ocourse the Alex III link on Windwinds
  • bidaskbidask Posts: 13,834 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I don't know anything on ancients but that is a nice looking coin.
    I manage money. I earn money. I save money .
    I give away money. I collect money.
    I don’t love money . I do love the Lord God.

• SwampboySwampboy Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Wow.
    Even with slight obv offset I'd say that piece looks 'well centered' from the way it was struck.
    Great detail on the portrait and an amazing reverse..
    Any idea which mint?
  • DennisHDennisH Posts: 13,963 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For whatever reference help this might be, I bought this one 9 years ago for $225: