Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

What 2009 coin mistakes will you try not to make in 2010?

When buying coins for resale, I will try not to underestimate the NGC, Anacs, price discount, relative to PCGS holdered coins. I got smoked on a few last year.

Comments

• Options
    BearBear Posts: 18,954 ✭✭
    When you buy slooowww, you lose money slooowww!
    There once was a place called
    Camelotimage
  • Options

<< <i>When you buy slooowww, you lose money slooowww! >>

True enough Bear, but I do this for a living and need to keep inventory moving.
  • Options
    dsessomdsessom Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭✭✭
    No more NGC or raw coins. PCGS only.

I hate sounding like a fanboy, but I sure have learned about resale values when it comes to numismatics. PCGS graded coins always retain or gain value - all things being equal. I have heard "buy the coin and not the holder" over and over, but I'm sorry that just doesn't work anymore. I buy the coin AND the holder, and I buy coins as both a hobby and an investment. I know that I can sell PCGS slabbed coins for close to what I paid, and sometimes more. So, no more non-PCGS coins for me for the most part. I do still buy an occasional raw coin but it's rare.
  • Options
    "I know that I can sell PCGS slabbed coins for close to what I paid, and sometimes more." Even RD Lincolns? image
  • Options
    Not to "settle" for a mediocre coin, just because "that particular date/variety/whatever doesn't come around too often".

Must learn to be more patient.

Wait for the good ones. They'll come along eventually.
  • Options
    I have to learn to research before purchasing anything. 99% of the time if it seems too good to be true it probably is.

Like others said patience is the key.
  • Options
    STONESTONE Posts: 15,275
    I didn't make a whole lot of mistakes in regards to numismatics in 2009, fortunately! (Or at least I don't see them as mistakes)