Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Question for the Philippines experts

Who is this guy and what was the first depiction of him on coins/medals?

I always thought that was just a generic allegorical figure dreamed up for the USPI coinage, but then saw this medal at NEN from 1895 for the Philippines Regional Exposition.

Does he represent some figure in Filipino history or folklore, or is this just a coincidence?

imageimage

Comments

• FilamCoinsFilamCoins Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭

I'm no expert, but I'll have a wag.

The young man on the reverse first appeared on USPI minors in 1903. He was designed by Melecio Figueroa and was meant to represent the youth, vigor and industriousness of the Filipino people. I wonder if he designed this medal as well?

I have no idea which angel is blessing him.

I'd guess the obverse has portraits of Alfonso XIII, who was proclaimed King of Spain at his birth in 1886, and his mother, Queen Maria Christina, who acted as his representative during his youth. Of course, the Philippines was under Spanish rule at this time.

The regional exhibition of Manila in 1895 was designed to show the world the agricultural and industry technological advances in the Philippines during the period and to demonstrate the lifestyle and customs of the Filipino people.

• trozautrozau Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭
    My WAG: He may be a representation of Panday Pira. Here's a blurb about him from Wiki:

Panday Pira (1488-1576) was a Moro blacksmith[1] who is acknowledged as "The First Filipino Cannon-maker".[2] His name literally translates as "Blacksmith Pira", panday being the Filipino word for "blacksmith".