Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Calling all Mark McGwire Auto Experts

I received this from a friend of mine who knows I am a Cardinals fan. He received this cut signature from a collection of misc. cards and autographs from an auction house (I think it was Huggins and Scott, but I am not sure. To me, it looks like it comes from a sheet of paper with other autos on it (or at least, other writing, as you can see at the bottom). I do know that it is a Sharpie and not printed or stamped because it bleeds through to the reverse.

Anyway, I was just wondering if you McGwire experts could let me know if this is the real deal or not. It looks good to me, but I am not an expert on McGwire. Here it is.

Shane

Comments

• Options
    IronmanfanIronmanfan Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭✭
    looks legit to me
    Successful dealings with Wcsportscards94558, EagleEyeKid, SamsGirl214, Volver, DwayneDrain, Oaksey25, Griffins, Cardfan07, Etc.
  • Options
    vladguerrerovladguerrero Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭
    i'm no expert but it looks good
  • Options
    Its fake
  • Options
    frankhardyfrankhardy Posts: 8,046 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>Its fake >>

Could you explain?

Shane

• Options
    McGwire hasn't signed an "a" in "Mark" that size since his very early A's days, and even when he did it was way more legible. His "a" in his autograph changed in about 1993; it either doesn't include the "a", or it is very small, or is just a dot that flows into the big loop in the middle of the autograph. The "loop" in the middle of the autograph is also not of the correct shape and fluidness, The starting point location of the second "M" is wrong, and the "g" is not proportioned correctly. McGwire dots the "i" in McGwire about 50% of the time and when he does, it is more towards the other end of the trailing finishing stroke.
  • Options
    In my opinion its not authentic.

Heres a good Mcgwire autograph Quiz
  • Options