Home Precious Metals
Options

Gold Now Topping Out?

As the old saying goes............when every Joe Shmo starts talking about and wants in, the top is about in

I work as a stockbroker and have for over 14 yrs, and today for the first time ever I actually had 2 seperate clients call ME and ask if I think they should start buying gold bullion and how to do it. Then later in the day another broker in the office asked me where he can buy 1 oz. Krugerrands and what's a good price.

The last time I had clients calling me and asking me about "hot investments" was in late '99 or so when a few normally conservative clients asked me if they should start buying internet related stocks.

I'm still a gold bull though, and hope this time is different.

Comments

• Options
    isn't that the start of a bull not the end?
  • Options
    WeissWeiss Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I haven't met a single person in the last 18 months or so who is buying gold as a hot investment. They're buying to protect assets.
    We are like children who look at print and see a serpent in the last letter but one, and a sword in the last.
    --Severian the Lame
  • Options
    i think their have to be buyers before it runs
    just when everyone is buying you sell
    just my thoughts!!
  • Options
    CladiatorCladiator Posts: 17,920 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I haven't met a single person in the last 18 months or so who is buying gold as a hot investment. They're buying to protect assets. >>

Agreed. From what I've seen the flippers are out and those thinking they are being prudent are still in.
  • Options
    I think there is potential for a gold bubble, your experience today reinforces that theory and if it turns out to be the case, then there is still a long ways to go.
  • Options

<< <i>As the old saying goes............when every Joe Shmo starts talking about and wants in, the top is about in