Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

TTM... Hand written vs. typed and signed?

I am very new to the world of TTM and I had a question. Do you find that you have more success with a hand written letter, rather then a typed and hand signed letter? I just finished up sending out three TTM requests. I hand wrote all three of them which all wound up being about 3/4 of a notebook page. My hand is now dead from writing more by hand then I have written in 15 years or since the invention of Microsoft Word. Does it really make a difference if the letter is hand written, are there guys out there that won't sign your card because your letter is typed and hand signed?

Comments

• VitoCo1972VitoCo1972 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭
    If a guy is charging for his auto, typed is fine. If you're asking for a free auto, you have to hand write.

• << <i>If you're asking for a free auto, you have to hand write. >>

No you don't.
  • I always type - because I'm a little lazy and my handwriting sucks! I don't think the modern guys really care about a handwritten note but I think some of the old timers would still get a kick out of something handwritten.
  • PoppaJPoppaJ Posts: 2,818
    Hi John,

It is true what Steve (brianwintersfan) said about not having to handwrite for a free auto.

However, I think the point Mike (VitoCo1972) was making is that handwritten requests for free autos add a more personal touch and that method probably gets more positive results.

The key word of course is "personal".

JMHO,
    PoppaJ

• VitoCo1972VitoCo1972 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Hi John,

It is true what Steve (brianwintersfan) said about not having to handwrite for a free auto.

However, I think the point Mike (VitoCo1972) was making is that handwritten requests for free autos add a more personal touch and that method probably gets more positive results.

The key word of course is "personal".

JMHO,
    PoppaJ >>

Exactly.
  • ROCKDJRWROCKDJRW Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭