Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Signed rookie PSA/DNA question (w/pics)

PSA/DNA is stopping by a store here in Atlanta this weekend and I was thinking of going. I have a signed '89 Score Barry Sanders and '80 Topps Rickey Henderson. From what I hear, they authenticate on site, but do not grade the card. The Henderson isn't in the best shape, but the Sanders would certainly grade an 8 or 9. Should I hold off on the Sanders to include the grade, or does it not really matter that much? I am a Collecters Club member, but figured I wouldn't have to pay shipping charges each way if authenticated on site.

Would it make sense to also authenticate lesser rookie cards (for example, an 84T Dickerson)? There seems to be a high demand for signed rookie cards lately, but I didn't want to bother with the Dickerson if its value would be <$50.

Sorry for the poor pics...I'm new at this.

Comments

• Options
    yankeeno7yankeeno7 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭
    There may be few who care about the grade but I dont know any. I know I dont care about the autograph grade. I can look at an auto and know if it has a nice enough appearance or not.
  • Options
    slantycouchslantycouch Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭

<< <i>There may be few who care about the grade but I dont know any. I know I dont care about the autograph grade. I can look at an auto and know if it has a nice enough appearance or not. >>

My thoughts exactly.
  • Options
    gtgrad99gtgrad99 Posts: 227 ✭✭

<< <i>PSA/DNA is stopping by a store here in Atlanta this weekend and I was thinking of going. >>

Which store?
  • Options
    Autograph grades are pretty subjective. Sure there's some base differentation from smudges or boldness, but past that there's not much standard. So a grade doesn't really make sense to me.

I do however see merit in grading the card that the autograph is on. That's very objective and there's a lot of card deficiencies that make them more or less nice.