Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1s this 1883 Nickel a proof?

It has a very mirrory surface and is cameo. But, the strike is not centered well on the planchet. Is it?

Comments

• Options
    lasvegasteddylasvegasteddy Posts: 10,408 ✭✭✭
    it sure looks like one but i'm no pro
    everything in life is but merely on loan to us by our appreciation....lose your appreciation and see

• Options
    MFHMFH Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭

Looks like a Proof to me - because of the squared rims.

Mike Hayes
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Coin collecting is not a hobby, it's an obsession !

New Barber Purchases
  • Options
    commoncents05commoncents05 Posts: 10,078 ✭✭✭
    I don't think it is.

-Paul
    Many Quality coins for sale at http://www.CommonCentsRareCoins.com
  • Options
    EagleEyeEagleEye Posts: 7,676 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Rick Snow, Eagle Eye Rare Coins, Inc.Check out my new web site:
  • Options
    savoyspecialsavoyspecial Posts: 7,268 ✭✭✭✭
    i'm going with business strike......first year of new dies and strikes were full

www.brunkauctions.com

• Options
    This one I know for certain IS a proof. What is the difference?

• Options
    Bayard1908Bayard1908 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭✭

<< <i>This one I know for certain IS a proof. What is the difference? >>

Look at the detail in the lowest two ears of corn. Also, the first coin you posted has several bag marks on the face.

There are several known dies for proofs. Unfortunately, I haven't paid much attention to them.
  • Options
    joebb21joebb21 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭✭✭
    most 83 circs have a die crack in the top half-though generally they connect some stars
    may the fonz be with you...always...
  • Options
    WoodenJeffersonWoodenJefferson Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭✭
    I was once told one characteristic is (don't know if there is any truth to this what-so-ever) that the business struck 1883 has definition inside Liberty's ear where the proof struck specimens is void of detail.