Home Precious Metals

Mining stocks for PGE, Au & Ag..................

GeomanGeoman Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭
Being the precious metals forum, I thought I would ask if others have invested in mining stocks. While I collect mainly US Silver coins, I also am interested in precious metals - both as a collector and an investor. That being said, do any people here "invest" in mines that produce precious metals, besides buying coins (which is the end product)?

I do tend to believe most people would rather have the physical possession of gold, silver, etc in the hands. But the possible return on PM mining stock vs. physical coins seems much greater. Gold goes up, bullion goes up (10%, 20%, etc.). However, some mining companies could see larger returns. I should mention that I am a mining Geologist and did my Master's on a Cu-Ni/PGE mining prospect in northern MN. So I may be a little bias. But some of these companies developing new mines have the potential to produce 10-fold on your investment. PolyMet is one company that is interesting (I do own PolyMet stock), Duluth Metals is another. This isn't a plug for these companies, rather just some local examples I know of. I am sure there are other mines across the US/Canada etc that people could list. Rather, I wanted to see people's opinion of mining stock vs. physical ownership of PM coins.

PGE = platinum group elements.

Comments

• roadrunnerroadrunner Posts: 28,303 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Mining stocks lead the gold market from 2001-2004 and then lagged bullion from 2005-2008. In fact the stocks were hammered to the tune of 65-85% haircuts during the deleveraging of 2008. It was if the PTB wanted to really punish the miners. It looks like the start of this next move in bullion to over $1000 will favor miners over bullion once again. But it may not stay like that as the period of 2001-2008 showed.