Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Getting My Fix

So, I've been away for several years and I haven't thought much about collecting. I caught the bug again recently and I'm looking at adding to my modest collection, but I'm not sure how. I'm a college student in the midwest and, although I would love to, I am unable to travel to every major show in the U.S. (with rare exceptions). I've never bought anything through the major auction galleries because I would have to do so sight unseen over the internet.

Enough rambling, onto the questions. I've been told a solution to this problem would be to talk to a dealer and have them look at and acquire coins on my behalf, but I'm not sure I understand the process.

Obviously the dealer is being compensated, but to what extent and in what manner?

I assume the dealer is simply bidding in my place and I am buying the coin directly from the auction house... is this correct or am I off base?

What if the coin doesn't meet my expectations?

Is there a price at which it's not worth the dealer's trouble to acquire coins on their client's behalf?

My next question would be who, but if I'm clueless about my previous questions (and it's certainly possible) it may not matter.

I'm sure this varies from dealer to dealer. I'm not looking for specifics, I'm just trying to gain a general understanding of the process. Any input you guys and gals have would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Options