Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Ebay Dilemma: Delivery 2 weeks overdue

I bought some coins from a seller who shipped via USPS on the 17th. Tracking says they were initially scanned, but the item has since disappeared into the ether. Contacted seller 3 times, and he informs me USPS won't do a thing to help until after 30 days. Seller shipped with insurance, of course, and has offered to send another set, but I'm reluctant now, and unsure how to proceed. Seller's Return policy is unspecified in the auction.

As I have no experience with deliveries gone awry, is it best to wait and see if it IS delivered eventually, or is it more likely stolen, and never to be found? I've learned some people don't care for USPS insurance, as the notice on the package is likened to an invitation to steal. I don't want to burn the seller, but I'm out the funds, AND the coins, and beginning to feel a little buyer's remorse...

Your thoughts?
UBERCOINER

A Truth That's Told With Bad Intent
Beats All The Lies You Can Invent

Comments

• Options
    notwilightnotwilight Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭
    What's the problem? If the seller offers to send another you're golden. Many sellers would want to wait and collect the insurance first which I think is a little excessive. I personally want to wait longer than 2 weeks because the USPS sometimes is slow but they don't lose things very often. Sending another set now will likely end up with you shipping a set back. --Jerry
  • Options
    commoncents05commoncents05 Posts: 10,078 ✭✭✭
    Tracking Insured coins always just shows the initial scan and then nothing until delivery. He's right, you have to wait for the USPS to do anything. It sounds like the seller is an upstanding guy who is doing everything he can at the moment.

-Paul
    Many Quality coins for sale at http://www.CommonCentsRareCoins.com
  • Options