Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Grade This 1806 Quarter *New Pics

I'm still learning my new camera so the details are a bit smudge, but what do you think the grade would be? I personally see VF20 details and possibly some weekness of strike, but it shouldn't go lower than F12. I didn't think it looked cleaned. However, the reverse might have a cleaned spot

imageimage

Comments

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,741 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It appears to have VF details and has most certainly been stripped of its surfaces at least once.
    Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    dohdoh Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭
    15-20 seems about right. Might be the camera, but the color sure is funky
    Positive BST transactions with: too many names to list! 36 at last count.
  • Options
    It's not the camera, but my editing. I took the picture in a hurry, under bad lighting, and tried to get the colors with the photo editor. I know it didn't work. I will try again later.
  • Options
    LoveMyLibertyLoveMyLiberty Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭
    It looks to be a B-9 , R-1 , showing the start of die crumbling at the cud over STATES.
    From the somewhat blurred image it looks like somewhere around F-18 to VF-20.
    I guess the variety is common, but you don't see too many early quarters around
    these days.
    My Type Set

R.I.P. Bear image
  • Options
    jdillanejdillane Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭
    Me thinks she's VF. And even if stripped as TomB remarks, me still likey!
  • Options
    MikeInFLMikeInFL Posts: 10,188 ✭✭✭✭
    VF details, cleaned, net F
    Collector of Large Cents, US Type, and modern pocket change.
  • Options
    I edited the pictures and with a close up of the surface and a die crack.
  • Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,741 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It still looks to have VF details and has still been stripped at least one time.
    Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson