Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

Question on changes in certified grades

I'm kind of new to collecting, so forgive me if this is a dumb question...

I was reading Q. David Bowers' book, Guide to Collecting and Investing in Rare Coins, and there was something interesting that I noticed. I was reading about the history of a certain 1804 Silver Dollar, I believe it was called the "Smith specimen" or something like that. In the late 80's, early 90's, it was certified by PCGS as EF45. Then in the late 90's, it was recertified (again by PCGS) as AU58.

I realize that grading is subjective, and that PCGS was known to be "stingier" in grading in the early years. However, I thought this was more in the mint state categories (a 1987 MS63 might be an MS65 now, etc). But going from an EF45 to an AU58 seems like quite a jump to me. Do TPGs sort of "go easy" on extremely rare coins? I would find it hard to imagine, say, a 1964 Washington Quarter going from an EF45 slab to an AU58 slab.

Second question, if they do grade easier on famous/rare coins, do you think that undermines the entire system?

I don't mean this as a knock against PCGS or any other TPG, I'm just curious (like I said, I'm new to the game).

Comments

• eCoinquesteCoinquest Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭
    It seems that the excessively rare coins tend to go "slab hopping" very often between the grading services as each one wants the publicity and recognition for slabbing that rare coin. This leads to each service raising the grade by a point or more as to tempt the owner to switch services. This is just my opinion but it is what appears to be happening.
    This could be the case for the coin you are referring to. Another possibility is it was extremely undergraded in the first place.