Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

*My Next Set* - 51 Bowman or 56 Topps *Decision has been Made!*

As some of you on the boards know. I've been putting together a '33 Goudey set for about 2+ years now. They are all PSA 5 and I'm working my way nicely to the end. I figure I will be done before January 2010 (I may make it my 2009 New Years Resolution).

Before I chose 33 Goudey, I made quite a few criteria before choosing.

#1. The set had to be attainable. (Cards could be found without digging the depths of the earth) Note: I'm not getting the Lajoie
#2. The set had to look great.
#3. The set had to have multiple HOF'ers and superstar cards.
#4. The set had to be a good 'Long Term' investment.
#5. I had to be able to collect the set in EX condition.
#6. It had to be a well known set.

In my research I learned the only pre-war cards were safe to retain value in EX condition. I also learned the the T206 set had lots of variations (and was out of my price range) 1914 CJ's couldn't be found in EX.

I was pretty much left with 1915 CJ's, 33 Goudey, and 1940 Play Ball. Obviously I choose the 33 Goudey's. I am thrilled with my decision.

Now I am starting to do my research on my next set after my 33 Goudey Set is done. Here is my criteria

#1. Must be PSA 7 (All PSA 7)
#2. Must have great Eye Appeal
#3. Must have Mantle, Williams, and Mays
#4. Cannot be loaded with commons (350 card set max)
#5. A good 'long term' investment
#6. No Incredible Short Prints
#7. No All Star Cards or split cards (example: Matle/Mays)

I have narrowed it down to 1951 Bowman and 1956 Topps. Input, stories and opinions are welcome. This is not a competition on what set you like better (even though that does matter), but a set that best meets my criteria in what I'm looking for.

Please discuss.
-Ryan

Comments

• Options
    fattymacsfattymacs Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭