Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Did you collect cards as a kid or start when you were an adult?

Just something I thought would be an interesting topic.

As I've said before, I don't collect cards but even as a kid I saved stuff in boxes and had little collections of junk.

So did you collect cards as a kid or just get in to it as an adult? Also, do you still have the cards you had when you were a kid?
Tonya

Comments

• Options
    fiveninerfiveniner Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭
    I have been collecting cards since 1959 with a short time out for other fun things like sports,parties and girls not excactly in that order.
    Tony(AN ANGEL WATCHES OVER ME)
  • Options
    scooter729scooter729 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭
    Good idea for a thread. My first cards were bought in 1979, when I was 6 years old. I still have those, albeit in rough shape, but I could never get rid of them!

I've kept on collecting since then, though the price tags on my purchases have kept on going up every year!
  • Options
    I started collecting in 1977 as a 7-year-old when my grandmother bought me a box of 1977 Topps Baseball cards. I still can remember sorting them by team on her living room floor and being fascinated by Larvell Blanks for some reason.

• Options
    perkdogperkdog Posts: 29,498 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi Tonya, I collected as a kid right up until I was about 16 ( 1986 ) and stopped until I was about 30 and got back into it for a short time buying some overgraded vintage at shows and then selling them about a year after and stayed away until about 4 years ago- since then I have been hooked!

My cards from when I was younger I recently discovered in my basement in a large cardboard box filled with mildew and burnt them all!
  • Options
    storm888storm888 Posts: 11,701 ✭✭✭
    About 1957, but stopped in the early 1960s.
    Folks Who Bite Get Bitten. Folks Who Don't Bite Get Eaten.
  • Options
    billwaltonsbeardbillwaltonsbeard Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭✭