Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Attribution help with a Gallienus? (& Diadumenian, Herennius Etruscus, Crispina)

AE silvered (AR?) antoninianus. Really nice- brighter than the dull scan indicates. I'd almost swear it was good silver instead of silvered bronze, but from what I've read, there isn't supposed to be any good silver from Gallienus, just AE antoninianii?

Obv.- IMP GALLIENVS PF AVG, radiate draped bust right. Rev- LETITIA AVG G (sic), Laetitia standing left holding wreath and anchor.

Note the unusual spelling of Laetitia's name, though I found it occurs elsewhere (noted on a barbarous radiate of Tetricus I).

Ex-John C. Greener collection 08/1973, Don Rupp 05/2007.

I'm just learning to use Wildwinds to attribute my coins, but it's apparently no help on this one. I have one or two others that aren't listed, either.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,214 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Here's another I can't find (it will look familiar to one of you here!)

AE sestertius of Diadumenian (probably as Caesar)? Ca. 217-218 AD? 29 mm.

Obv.- little of legends visible, draped (& cuirassed?) bust right. Rev.- inscription missing, probably SPES PVBLICA, Spes standing left, holding flower & raising skirt.

Apparently unlisted on Wildwinds.com (?), but RIC-117 is a Diadumenian AR denarius with a similar design.

And another, which I bought fully attributed from a knowledgeable dealer, but I just want to confirm the attribution since I can't find it on Wildwinds either (obviously my reference library is slim, consisting of one old Sear book).

<< <i>HERENNIUS ETRUSCUS, as Caesar, AR silver antoninianus. Q HER ETR MES DECIVS NOB C, radiate draped bust right. Reverse - PRINC IVVENTVTIS, Apollo seated left with branch and lyre. RIC 145, RSC 22. 22mm, 2.6g. gVF/aVF. >>