Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Texas Coin and Currency Set - Someone needs to revisit this (Photo Beware Dialupers)

I just got my TCCS today and somebody asked me if the coins looked Satin or Matte. After studying I declared Satin.

Then I saw an old post which was brought back up today regarding the finish so I took yet another look at the coins. I can't articulate this with photos but I'm convinced the coins are not just standard uncirculated coins. These coins are identical in appearance and texture (if that's even a good term to use) especially in the fields to mint uncirculated satin finish coins from uncirculated coin sets. They do not look like regular business strikes to me.

I realize this photo is far from conclusive evidence and the right thing to do would be to get a Texas 2004 circulated coin and photograph it under the same EXACT conditions, compare minute details of the coin, blah, blah, blah. I don't have the time or inclination.

I'm no professional coin collector by a long shot but I say this deserves another look. These coins sure look like satin finish coins to me and not like comparable regular Texas business strike coins to me, although I will confess to not having what I would consider to be a pristine (or as pristine as I would like) example.

This subject is not dead or closed in my mind.

John

Coin Photos

Never view my other linked pages. They aren't coin related.

Comments

• Options
    I wouldn't go so far as to call them pristine but they look high quality to me.
    -Rome is Burning

• Options
    smokincoinsmokincoin Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭

<< <i>I just got my TCCS today and somebody asked me if the coins looked Satin or Matte. After studying I declared Satin.