Home U.S. Coin Forum

Amazing what a little hype can do for the price of a coin

stev32kstev32k Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭
I've been keeping my eye out for a 1917 type 1 SLQ and recently came across two listings. One was in an ICG AU58 holder the other in an ICG MS63 slab. The 58 sold for $376 the 63 sold for $322. The difference was some hype about the 58 being undergraded.

This is not the first time I've seen this, nor will it be the last, but I'm always amazed.
Who is General Failure, and why is he reading my hard drive?

Comments

• Thats amazing. Human nature is a strange thing.
  • braddickbraddick Posts: 23,803 ✭✭✭✭✭
    And the 63 even sports a FH vs the 58.

peacockcoins

• DJCoinzDJCoinz Posts: 3,856
    That is extremely weird.
    aka Dan
  • etexmikeetexmike Posts: 6,811 ✭✭✭
    Everybody knows that AU58 coins are the best bargains when buying coins. image

I agree that this one is a little on the strange side.

-------------

etexmike

• << <i>I've been keeping my eye out for a 1917 type 1 SLQ and recently came across two listings. One was in an ICG AU58 holder the other in an ICG MS63 slab. The 58 sold for $376 the 63 sold for $322. The difference was some hype about the 58 being undergraded.

This is not the first time I've seen this, nor will it be the last, but I'm always amazed. >>

Maybe a shillimage? Wow, that was ignorant of me to type. Sorry to accuse you xkop69. Wish I had some AU 1917 type 1 quarters to send to ICG.
  • WinPitcherWinPitcher Posts: 27,726 ✭✭✭
    I was not to thrilled with the bidding history either, but what do I know?

Steve
    Good for you.
  • greghansengreghansen Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭
    Strange indeed. I like the 63 much better.

Greg Hansen, Melbourne, FL Click here for any current EBAY auctions Multiple "Circle of Trust" transactions over 14 years on forum

• zennyzenny Posts: 1,547 ✭✭
    and you would call this what?

"graded MS63FH by ICG = one of the toughest, if not the toughest grading company there is."