Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Topps Matchprint Proof - 1973 Topps Reggie - Ya learn something new every day! Update to add a 75T R

Well guys, I've been buying from the Toppsvault for 4 years now and have never seen a "matchprint" proof before. They may have sold some and I missed it. So, I had to have it - especially since it's Reggie!

The auction only described it as a matchprint proof - and there was some competition for it.

Topps checks their cards out before they actually go to press - I know nothing about printing - I went to the net and came up with the fact that there are 3 types of proofs.

Before explaining - let me tell you that Topps does sell their "laminate" proofs from time to time - these are more inexpensive to produce than the matchprint of the Reggie - I'll explain in a minute - but here's an example of that kind which I picked up a while back.

So - here are the types of proofs:

Types of proofs:

1. Contact proof - which seems to coincide with "positional" proof - type of monochrome prepress proof which is inexpensive. E.g's: blueline, Velox or RC paper.
It's used to check position where color is not as critical.

2. Overlay proof - the example I showed of the Rizzuto card. They're individual color acetate sheets - so one can check the individual color and then overlay them - check the registration and then place against a white background. E.g.'s: Chromacheck and Color key.

3. Laminate proof - the example I showed of the Reggie card. The most expensive of the proofs and is made from the negatives to make the printing plates.

Each color separation is transferred individually to a sheet and laminated together providing a very accurate "analog" of the final piece. E.g.'s: Matchprint, Dupont Cromalin.