Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

How do you get boxes of presidential dollars?

I talked to this one dealer who claims to still be getting boxes of John Adams and George Washington Presidential Dollars from this bank every Wednesday. He claims the bank doesn't order them, but the Federal Reserve or the armoured car company just drops off the boxes every Wednesday and that is how he is gettng the boxes. I've called around to about 25 banks and they all claim that they can't order boxes anymore for the Washington and Adams and if I'm lucky maybe 1 in 4 banks will still have a few rolls laying around of each one. I have no real experience in getting boxes from banks and does anyone with experience know if it would still be possible to get boxes of Adams and Washingtons directly from the banks if they don't already have them in hand? I read before that the federal reserve sits on millions of sac dollars and other types of coins so I'm thinking that maybe the reserve releases some of these for distribution through the armoured car companies and ultimately to the banks every now and then. Is it unlikely this guy is really getting them and he is just pulling my leg?

Comments

• Options

<< <i>but the Federal Reserve or the armoured car company just drops off the boxes every Wednesday and that is how he is gettng the boxes >>

Solution is simple....stop the truck en route.....!!!!.....image
    ......Larry........image
  • Options
    I'll have to check with the bank I use.....I bet they still have some sitting in the vault.....
  • Options
    He is probably just in an area where the local distributer still has a lot of them on hand, be it Brinks or whomever. They did mint a gazillion of those, and they are out there somewhere.
    imageQuid pro quo. Yes or no?
  • Options
    Classof67Classof67 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭
    I just deposited an unopened box of ($1000) Washington's at my local branch!