Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

How essential is the Valentine Reference on Half Dimes?

Although I seriously collect Seated Half Dimes, I have never bought the Valentine reference on the series, and its predecessors. I do have the Al Blythe reference, which I personally think is enough.

However, is it still essential? In that case, I will seriously reconsider buying itimage

Dennis

Comments

• Options
    im no expert but i say the more books you have, the more information you have. i would say get it. it will pay for itself in a short amount of time.
  • Options
    I don't know.
    However I got beat on it last night on eBay. My $30 fell to the standing high bidder at snipe time.image
    I would also like to know how this compares to R. Logan's book and if any members that have the book might want to sell it.
    OLDER IS BETTER
  • Options
    Dennis88Dennis88 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭
    How is the 1984 reprint? I believe that is by Sanford, which normally have very good quality books...

Dennis
  • Options

<< <i>Good book, I go t it just to have, but nothing beats the Logan/McCloskey book for certain. >>

I'm more interested in Seated Half Dimes than the earlier babies, so I'm not quite prepared (yet) to pay $135 or more for that book, although I'm sure it is absolutely great.

Dennis

PS I did buy a 140 year old book for $400 once and its just standin' on the shelfimage
  • Options
    MrHalfDimeMrHalfDime Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭✭
    I felt compelled to respond to your inquiry about the Dr. Daniel W. Valentine reference on half dimes ("The United States Half Dimes", D. W. Valentine, 1931; American Numismatic Society, New York) because, as you can well imagine, it is a subject of great importance to me, and one for which I can perhaps shed some light for you.