Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

50's set builders, a question.

So.....even though my current card budget from the boss (see WIFE) is only about $100/month, I really want to finish my raw 56 topps baseball set this coming year.

I've been working on the set slowly for about 2 years, picking up singles and small lot's on e-Bay and from shows. I'm building a STRICT EX-NM+ set. Also, almost every card I have is centered very well. If I sent it in to PSA, I'd expect PSA 5-7 grades.

So far, I have about 1/3 of the commons, a few minor stars, the Clemente, Aaron and the Yankees team card. The big ones left include Mantle, Mays, Koufax, Williams, Robinson and a few others.

So now the question. What advice can anyone offer on how to get this done on my budget (if possible). I know if I want all of the stars in the grade I'm shooting for, it won't happen. A nice raw or PSA 5 Mantle is $500 alone. I've contemplated picking up the rest of the stars graded, but I think I would have to settle for PSA 1-5. And, for the same $$, I could find at least EX raw copies. Should I just concentrate on the star cards now, figuring the commons can always be picked upped later, or try and get all of the commons so at least the set will 'appear' more complete as the year goes on. Finally, say you were looking at a nice raw EX-NM+ set from 1956, except the Mantle was a PSA 1 with nice eye appeal (maybe a stain/paper loss on the back), and the Williams, Mays, Koufax, etc. were PSA 3-5? Would you feel the set as a whole is lesser or greater than a completely raw set with raw EX stars, or does the piece of mind of at least having the stars "authentic" appeal to you?

Comments?

Comments

• Options
    Bob,