Home Metal Detecting
Options

What's It?

I mentioned in another thread about a surface find I made this weekend. My first thought is some type of lock or hammer for a powder rifle, but I have little knowledge of this type of weapon and its integral parts. If anyone can share a bit of knowledge about this "What's It," I'd truly appreciate it. Thanks!

Ross

Collector of most things Frank Thomas. www.BigHurtHOF.com

Comments

• Options
    Musky1011Musky1011 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭✭
    almost looks like the striker of flintlock rifle

The thing the flint scrapes against

Pilgrim Clock and Gift Shop.. Expert clock repair since 1844

Menomonee Falls Wisconsin USA

http://www.pcgs.com/SetRegistr...dset.aspx?s=68269&ac=1">Musky 1861 Mint Set
  • Options
    BunchOBullBunchOBull Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭
    Makes sense, thanks for the input. Makes a lot more sense than my first impression, I'm ignorant on this topic.
  • Options
    That's sure what it looks like, a striker.
  • Options
    Well, I think I'll keep it, kind of a neat eye balled find. Thanks for the consensus...I need to take my detector out to the spot I found this thing, but it's in an old gravel pit with an asphalt drive poured very nearby. On top of that, I'm moving and have already moved my detector like a goof. I've lived here for awhile, and now that I'm moving I find my first interesting find. Gold and silver are cool, but my gold and silver finds here have all been modern.
  • Options
    I too would say a striker.

That was the first thing that came to mind.
  • Options
    I don't know what that is but I am pretty sure it is not a hammer from either a percussion or flintlock blackpowder rifle or pistol. Every hammer I have seen has a square hole . Interesting find though.

Rich
  • Options
    kevinstangkevinstang Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭