Home Metal Detecting
Options

Saturday 4/21

I spent last Saturday with two arrowhead hunting buddies to see if we could recover some Civil War related artifacts. The site we visited has produced an officers belt plate, a heal plate, and a few brass articles which were all recovered from the surface while artifact hunting.
My research also pointed to this site being near a training area for the local militia before being sent to Camp Chase in Columbus.

My friends Danny and Bill are relatively new to detecting with Danny being a total novice. Bill had his Tesoro Golden Umax in tow and I let Danny swing my Tejon. After setting up the Tejon for Danny and getting my sovereign together, we headed out to the spot where the belt plate had been recovered. (see green X)

Having hunted with Danny and Bill for indian relics in the past, we decided to each carry 10 survey flags and mark our targets. Once all 30 targets were marked, we went from flag to flag to recover them so we could all see what was found at the same time. Thirty dug targets later we only had 12 actual metal targets! Bill and Danny were marking good hits that turned out to be green diorite rocks on the surface ( which are laying everywhere in great number). When I passed the Sovereign coil over them I would get some interference in the hum of the threshold, but no target signal. Both Tesoros gave solid signals on every one that they came across, but they never actually dug one under the surface, only the ones on top of the ground would register. image

That's Danny on the left and Bill on the right. Notice my red flags.

Bill down by the ditch. The tree line in the background is a local creek.

Danny has got blue flags everywhere! Most of them were the dreaded green rocks.

A flint utilized flake Bill found.

Here's the mid section of an arrowhead I found. The tip and base are long gone. image

I found this small flint blade which was all intact.

Top of an old green cork top bottle.