Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Swiss shooter value???

I have a subscription to numismaster, 19th century stuff, but I can't find any info on this particular issue. There are a couple coins I have seen and have an interest in potentially buying, specifically an 1883. One is nice AU and the other is unc.

What should one expect to pay/value on either of these? What was the mintage?
MS66 taste on an MS63 budget.

Comments

• lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,478 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Give them the picture. You have to remember that the individual Swiss Cantons issued coinage in addition to the Confederation, though I cannot remember if they still did so that late in the game or not. You might not find it under Switzerland but rather under one of the Swiss Cantons, a separate section in Krause. Look on the coin for clues to the canton's name.

If this is the coin you PM'ed me a picture of, I will have a look. I was too busy to look it up when you sent it.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • clarkbar04clarkbar04 Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It is the one!
  • coinpicturescoinpictures Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭
    Krause, in their infinite stupidity, removed Swiss shooting thalers from the regular Krause catalogs. They've been relegated to the "Unusual World Coins" catalog, thus their data is not available online.
    If this was the coin, then my rapid assessment of it as a Swiss shooting thaler was perhaps off the mark. I saw it was for a shooting festival, and then I saw the "5fr" denomination, and automatically assumed Swiss. Maybe it is and maybe it isn't. I have had only one Swiss shooting festival piece, so I am not totally up to speed on them.

imageimage

However, I see it says LUGANO.

I am pretty sure that's in Italy.

Whoops, sorry 'bout that. image