Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

1974 Topps Deckle Edge...

Hi everyone,

First of all, I apologize for posting in two places -- I also just posted on the Trading board. I just came upon these boards because I'm thinking of submitting some 1974 Deckle cards that I recently found in a pile of old stuff. I don't know much about the set, so I'm looking to you guys for some information and some advice. What is the significance of the white backs? I read in a couple locations that the white back versions are tougher to find? Also, clearly these cards are worth more when they've been graded, but I guess I'm not sure if the cards I found are worth grading. I think they're in great condition, but I'm no expert. Would you guys mind looking at some scans and telling me what you think?

I found a total of 15 cards, with the interesting ones being the Rose, Gibson, McCovey, and Reggie Jackson. Unfortunately, the Reggie is the only card out of the 15 that has significant damage, which you can see in the scan...

Let me know what you think. What can you tell me about the set? Are these worth sending in to PSA?

Thanks a lot!
-Geoff

imageimage
imageimage
imageimage
imageimage

Just FYI, the full list of the cards I found is:
2. Darrell Evans
3. Bob Gibson
4. Dave Nelson
15. Chris Chambliss
16. Pete Rose
27. Luis Tiant
28. Willie McCovey
38. Claude Osteen
39. Dick Allen
40. Bill Russell
50. Dave Johnson
51. John Mayberry
52. Don Kessinger
61. Reggie Jackson
62. Tony Oliva

Comments

• Options
    yankeeno7yankeeno7 Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭
    All I know is that 1974 Deckle Edge are TOUGH!!! I dont have a price guide for them but are one of the more significant early 70s off beat sets.
  • Options
    The 74's are tough. Nice Rose. I would be interested in it if you would like to part with it. Turn on your PM and I'll send you an offer.

Red