Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Ebay Purchases - Opinions?

Hi guys,

Just curious what you all think of these two coins I recently purchased on Ebay. I haven't received them yet so these are the sellers pictures. Just curious what you all think their potential grade may be? Also if you all think they are decent coins? (obviously "I" like them, just curious what you all think as I'm rather new to collecting)

I paid $20.00 shipped for this one. Fair price?

I paid $130.00 shipped for this one. Fair price?

Thanks in advance!

Aaron
Cards: I collect Austin Kearns, Curt Schilling, Erubiel Durazo, Junior Spivey, Mark Prior, and Randy Johnson.
Coins: I collect silver and gold coins.

Comments

• Options
    airplanenutairplanenut Posts: 21,910 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The surfaces on the first look corroded...

The second has color that's off. I'd say cleaned and not worth $130.
    JK Coin Photography - eBay Consignments | High Quality Photos | LOW Prices | 20% of Consignment Proceeds Go to Pancreatic Cancer Research
  • Options
    NumisOxideNumisOxide Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For the price you paid for the 2 center, you could of bought a low MS example in a top TPG holder.
  • Options
    Obviously this is a learning process, I understand that, that's why I'm here asking questions. Any other details you all are willing to share about these two examples would be much appreciated. I guess I was hoping for a better explanation about these coins potential grade, details about how they may have been cleaned if suspected (things like here's what to look for, this is why I suspect it was cleaned, etc.), and any thing else you all think may help me in my future purchases. Perhaps some details that will help me with those purchases rather then simply throwing out the obligatory "you could have bought this instead" type of statements. Any help would be much appreciated!
    Cards: I collect Austin Kearns, Curt Schilling, Erubiel Durazo, Junior Spivey, Mark Prior, and Randy Johnson.
  • Options