Home Metal Detecting
Options

WHICH DETECTOR SHOULD I BUY ??

im looking to upgrade, i have to believe there have been advancements since my '93 model garrett GTA 1000 i primarily coin hunt, and i like the simplicity of the GTA 1000 and was thinking about maybe getting a GTI 1500 or maybe the GTI 2500 or i would consider a different brand/model i need some input !

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,218 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I made a similar move. I graduated from a '92 model GTA-500 to the GTI-2500. Being a Garrett GTA-series veteran, I thought I would have an easy learning curve, and I did indeed learn the controls of the 2500 quickly. Mastering it has taken a little longer than I expected, however, but I have not been out too much with it, and I guess I could say I have not completely mastered it yet.

Aside from the added weight and the lack of a chestmount feature instead of the lame hipmount that just detaches the battery pack and unbalances the machine (which you no doubt are familiar with from the GTA-1000), I am satisfied with the 2500 and look forward to using it more.

If you move up to the 2500 from the 1000, you will have very little problem learning the new machine. The weight will take some getting used to, though.

As it happens, there is another thread about the 2500 at the top right now. (Edit- oh yeah, you already replied to it.)

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    im not sure i wanna spend the money just to have a detector that talks to me, i have to believe there have been improvements in the 15 years since the GTA came on the scene such as depth improvement, maybe discrimination, that kind of thing, from what ive read, other than the treasure talk thing, (which i doubt i will use much) and the size imaging, the GTA 1000 isnt all that ancient
  • Options
    Take a look at the GTP series.