Home Metal Detecting
Options

Anyone have any luck on the Great Lake's shoreline?

OmegaOmega Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭
I am a rookie. Just wondering if anyone has any experience along the Great Lakes? I plan to hunt an old C.C.C. camp this Spring. Anyone have any stories, suggestions, tales of hidden treasure. The Poverty Island Story sounds interesting...

Comments

• Options
    I can imagine many of the men at a ccc camp would have holes in their pockets, just can't imagine them having any money, let alone money to lose.
    "If I had a nickel for every nickel I ever had, I'd have all my nickels back".
  • Options
    I was thinking more relics than coins at the CCC camp. I was also wondering about fur trade posts etc., for coins and relics.

Poverty Island Treasure
  • Options

<< <i>I can imagine many of the men at a ccc camp would have holes in their pockets, just can't imagine them having any money, let alone money to lose. >>

Probably very little money was lost since they earned $30.00 a month, $25.00 of which had to be sent home to their families.

Relics on the other hand may be plentiful...I have no experiance to know for sure.
    I will say I have seen many exceptional Indian artifacts plucked along the shores of all the Great Lakes.
    Analog Rules! Knobs and Switches are cool!
    imageimage
  • Options

<< <i>Anyone have any stories, suggestions, tales of hidden treasure. >>

I have a treasure guide with stories for Michigan...of course most are to quote LM "Pie in the Sky" stories.

So what county are you in and around?
    imageimage
  • Options
    Kent but also spend a lot of time in Luce and Chippewa.
  • Options

Here are the entries for Luce:

<< <i>#1. Danaher was a station on the Soo Line in 1910.
    #2. Deer Park was plotted as a village in 1902. Nothing is there today.
    #3. Hunter's Mill was once the site of large lumber camps.