Home Metal Detecting
Options

Pocket change

Change from buying a pack of gum today. Nothing special in the date, but was happy to retire this one from circulation.

Comments

• Options
    Nice find. I always save nickels I find in change that are 1950s or older.
    I lust for silver.
    imageimageimageimage
  • Options
    I used to work as a cashier in a local store and I always kept a pocket full of change to swap for some of the older coins that turned up in my drawer. I always bought nickels from the 50s and older along with wheat pennies and the occasional foreign coin. A lady even paid me with a buffalo nickel once.
    Always on the lookout for a silver opportunity.
    imageimage
  • Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,218 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Pre-1960 Jeffs are perhaps "the final frontier" of overlooked circulation finds. They're the one currently-circulating coin that offers any decent cherrypicking opportunities in circulation and in bank rolls.* Wheaties still turn up, but not with the frequency they did when I was a younger collector, and I find the ratio of them so small that cent rolls are just not worth the effort of hunting anymore.

Only nickels offer some fun. I have gotten quite a few pre-1960s, including many War nickels. Still do, occasionally.

*(Half dollar rolls offer good, perhaps even better, cherrypicking, I suppose, but they're hard to get and they don't circulate much.)

WTG!

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    speaking of half dollar rolls....a buddy of mine ordered $5000.00 worth of halves from the bank...after spending the weekend going through them he made a profit of $700.00 by removing and selling the silver....found some barbers in the rolls as well....he said it was too much work and would not do it again....he did keep some of the nicer ones for himself.
    "see ya at the beach"