Home Stamps Forum
Options

Mint Sheets

I have a question to which I would appreciate responds. I am a collector of US mint sheets. I have been collecting for about six or seven years now. When I started, I purchased later 20th century sheets at or below face value, as well as buying new issues from the post office. My purchases have escalated since then. I am now at the point in my collection where I am buying late 19th century and early 20th century sheets. Needless to say, most purchases are well into four figures. The problem I have been having is coming to a fair price with the dealers on the sheets. Each dealer seems to approach the pricing of the sheets differently. Therefore, every purchase becomes a protracted negotiation session, more than I really want to get into. However, I cannot afford to make mistakes at the price points I am dealing in. As you probably know, sheets cannot be graded. So, my approach is to analyze the sheet in this manner: first, I check the sheet out for faults. Then I try to calculate the value of the components of the sheet; the plate block(s), straight edges, imprint blocks, etc. Then I look over the stamps, and try to see if there are stamps significantly below f-vf or significantly above f-vf. If so, I use the PSE pricing guide to value the stamps. After doing this, I add up the values, and price the sheet accordingly. I usually like to pay at least 20% below retail, since I feel I am buying the stamps essentially at wholesale since sheets usually contain 50-100 of the same Scott number.

I have found that many dealers believe they can add a premium over catalog, for the fact that it is a sheet. I have found it difficult to research auction realizations for mint sheets, so I am not sure where I am price-wise.