Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Set Registry Question - OPINIONS NEEDED

So I'm new to this and have a few questions that need answers/opinions from you guys that have a few registries under your belts.

I'm currently working on a Jack Dempsey Master set and a few things have been confusing me.

1.) In regard to a particular card that is "condition tough" (a 1920s Hand Cut strip card), it is worth it to obtain a copy that has been slabbed Authentic and use it for the registry even though it only counts as a 1 in the grade department? Essentially, what gives my set a better weight -- % completion or a high grade?

Keep in mind, with particular issues like the 20s Hand cut cards it may be a very long time before something in the 4-5 department arises and the odds of finding a high grade example are slim to none.

Then I have two questions about changing/altering a particular registry ....

2.) Currently, under the Jack Dempsey Master set, it lists multiple issues from the 1880s up until the 1910s of a boxer named Jack Dempsey that isn't the more famous Dempsey of which the set is intended for. In fact, in the SMR it even points out that that particular Dempsey "is not the more famous Jack Dempsey of the mid-20th century." How do I go about having those cards removed and what about other set collectors who already have those issues in high grade (which I'm sure cost a pretty penny) and won't be too happy when they no longer count towards the set?

3.) How do I go about asking PSA to add particular cards to a set registry or is what you see what you get? I've picked up some foreign issues of the 30s (when Dempsey was, in fact, still active) but do they not count because they're overseas issues? Also, there are some hand cut cards that they don't have listed in the registry and I feel they should be there too.