Home Metal Detecting
Options

Garrett system

I recently bought a brand new Garrett 2500 "system" with an optional 12 or 12.5" search coil (cannot remeber the exact size this moment).

I have not used the detector ever, but am planning on doing some searching on ground that use to be a riverbed and the shoreline.

Ground is flat, wooded with tree stumps, a lot like swamp land. Waiting on it to dry up some and search behind the larger trees that are left.

Anyone have comments how good the 2500 is or not for coins, especially gold and silver?

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,198 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I just joined the "2500 club" this summer and have not had too many outings with it. I am a veteran of the Garrett GTA series, having used the 350, 500, and 550 at various times over the last 12 years, and they are fine for coinshooting. So far with the 2500 I have not gotten "silvered" yet but I am confident of it's and my ability to do so- I just need to take it out more. I have dug a few relics with it and some Wheaties and other interesting things.

You'll do fine with it if you read your manual repeatedly and practice enough.

Goldrush00013 is your man- though he no longer has a 2500 (I bought his), he made some nice finds with it that I am sure he'll be happy to show off.

How could I forget Millennium? Steve uses a 2500 and his two gold coins were found with it.

Here. Check THIS out for a little inspiration. Does THAT tell you what can be found with a GTI-2500, hmm? image

Many of Steve's older finds were made with an old Garrett Groundhog, but I know for a fact that the 1781 Spanish gold escudo and the 1907 $10 gold piece were found with the 2500. So there's your answer about gold. And he found that Nova Constellatio copper with it, too.

And then there was the outing this summer, when I was invited to go with him and canceled at the last minute (and am still kicking myself).