Home Metal Detecting
Options

Kinda OT, but I suspect the folks here will enjoy...

I'm a freshman at Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, GA. image

I'm also an anthropology major.

So today in my free time I went to help out at the Anthropology Lab. Students there have been working a site in SC callled Mont Repose, a c. 1750 plantation.

So I go and say "I'm here to volunteer, what do you need me to do?"

So they set me up with bags of artifacts and a washtub and drying racks and a toothbrush and say "Clean these artifacts" image Boy what fun it was!

I went through five bags in about two and a half hours.

There were shards of ceramics that still had bright glazes and pieces of glass, polished rocks, all sorts of things. I cleaned a couple buttons, pieces of broken glass art objects, a ton of rusted square head nails, wonderful things. The most nifty thing I cleaned I think was a drawer handle, it looked like it was in perfect condition! And it had such a gorgeous patina.

There were also some Indian artifacts mixed in, like flint knapping shards, a poorly made arrowhead and bits of pottery tempered with shell and gravel.

All in all, a very fun morning! image

I just thought I'd share it with you.

I don't get out metal detecting much. image But when I do, I use a Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX. image

-Amanda

I'm a YN working on a type set!

My Buffalo Nickel Website Home of the Quirky Buffaloes Collection!

Proud member of the CUFYNA

Comments

• Options
    kevinstangkevinstang Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭
    Sounds like an interesting old site. Not sure what would be more fun- digging all that stuff up or cleaning it as you did. I was an Anthro major myself once upon a time, never got to do an actual dig (only spent 2 years in that major)-we were supposed to do an 18th French Fort but the landlord backed out at last minute.
  • Options