Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Won my first coin auction on ebay

I am new to coins and this forum. Did I get a good bargain, or pay too much on the coin below? I liked the coin, and liked that it was slabbed already and the price I paid was good for me. I was just curious as to if I paid a lot over. Is there a way to look up this coin like PCGS has?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=260013111956&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=016

Does anyone here have an eBay store that they sell from on a regular basis? Do you know of any software that allows you to manage your collection?

I guess I should introduce myself a little better. My name is Shawn. I recently returned home from 15 months in Iraq. While I was there I started thinking about investments. I started buying stocks and bonds. When I returned home, I dug out a box that had some American Eagle silver coins that were passed down to me from my great grandfather.

I plan to start buying coins every month along with my stocks and bonds. I just like the fact that they are something you can physically touch and see. I would like to stick with graded coins for now. I am on the hunt for my first gold coin, but think I am looking for too much of a bargain, lol.

I would really like to find some members that are regulars here that sell coins on eBay and their own websites.

Comments

• Options
    xbobxbob Posts: 1,979
    Welcome Shawn.

The coin you got looks OK, and it was cheap, but the grade is questionable given that the slab holder is from a grading company that is not well known. I don't know their track record for accurate or consistent grading. I wouldn't use the PCGS price guide as a reference for anything other than PCGS coins, and even then it's most always higher than selling values.

Read up on this forum. There is lots of good info regarding buying graded coins and maybe pick up Scott Traver's book, "The coin collectors survival manual".

Most of all, have fun!