Home Sports Talk

Wacky Tobaccy Cards..

grote15grote15 Posts: 29,479 ✭✭✭✭✭
Check this auction out: 220011400675

(I'm not good with the linky thing, so maybe someone can link it here.)

I guess he's moved from buying remote controls and pedometers to selling vintage tobacco cards, LOL!

Collecting 1970s Topps baseball wax, rack and cello packs, as well as PCGS graded Half Cents, Large Cents, Two Cent pieces and Three Cent Silver pieces.

Comments

• AxtellAxtell Posts: 10,037 ✭✭
    Text

Definitely an odd auction...seems like he just grabbed scans of holders, and then scanned his own cards...
  • I agree that it's very odd, but I'm not so sure it's not for real.

The scans aren't lined up so it goes the front, the grade, and the back on the next line. SGC, unlike PSA, puts the back on the label, and they match up. Also the grades seem right for each card. I believe the cards are really in the holders.

Maybe I took the bait, but I don’t think the seller knows anything about these cards as an SGC 60 Mathewson is nonchalantly located between two low-grade nobodies.

Although a paypal logo is present at the bottom of the auction, this is prominently displayed near the top,
    NO PAYPAL PAYMENT ACCEPTED PAYMENT TO BE MADE DIRECTLY TO CARD OWNER BY BANK ELECTRONIC WIRE or BANK CHASHIERS CHECK with hold/clearing time.

• stevekstevek Posts: 27,582 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A little suspicious because he has digital camera photos of coins he is selling, so why not digital camera photos of the entire SGC slabs? A little strange but I don't see it as an "automatic" scam. If interested, contact the seller and get additional information before bidding. Ask him questions and if not liking the answers then don't bid.
  • grote15grote15 Posts: 29,479 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Caveat Emptor! No paypal=No recourse!

Collecting 1970s Topps baseball wax, rack and cello packs, as well as PCGS graded Half Cents, Large Cents, Two Cent pieces and Three Cent Silver pieces.