Home U.S. Coin Forum

Introduction

Aegis3Aegis3 Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭
Since, I've started posting here, I might as well give a brief introduction.

I've been collecting errors for almost 20 years now, about 2/3rds of my life. I especially like indents, brockages, and struck through errors, because to me these are the most "striking" of errors.

I started collecting half cents by variety back in 1993, and joined EAC at the time. I had recently read Sheldon's Early American Cents (the 1949 book), but finding large cents too expensive for me at the time, I decided to go with the half cents (business strikes only). I presently have around 60 varieties. The Braided Hairs are complete, and I have only one variety left among the Classic Heads. The Draped Bust and assorted Liberty Cap types need a way to go.

Most recently (late 2004) I also started collecting Assay Commission medals. I had been interested in these since reading old Bowers and Merena auction catalogs (especially Dreyfuss and Fred/Ward), but for a while (namely until I had year-round jobs) these were not very affordable to me, especially with the above two interests. In December 2004, I bought an 1870 bronze medal merely as an interesting piece of exonumia. However, the medal hypnotized me, and so since then I've added four more medals to my collection (1868 Al, 1899 Ag, 1901 Ag, 1974 Pewter).

In addition to these collections, I also have been obtaining from time to time pieces of exonumia that I've found interesting; most recently was an 1869 John Bolen store card (of struck copy fame), pedigreed to the John Ford and FCC Boyd collections. Second I've added some colonial coins, something of a type set but there's no fixed goal there, just an interesting variety or two from most states. I also have more numismatic literature than someone who has moved 2000 miles in the last year would like to have.