Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Thought I was a Ebay veteran by now, but is this a RED FLAG?

Anyone know of hackers doing work like this, I just got a RED FLAG type of feeling from the circumstances. Please read...

A wax box sells last night on Ebay for $540, hi bidder (rating 281) Paypal's the money to me within 30 mins of end of auction. No message there, just a confirmed TEXAS address. 15 mins later, I get a Ebay message in My Ebay from the guy's user ID regarding this item. It is as follows:

Hello,

I am the winning bidder of the 1988 fleer box. I have just finished paying for it. I would like to know if you could mail it to the following address - P.O. Box 703, Rocklin, CA 95677. I am in the process of moving and will no longer be at the current address. Please let me know. Thank you for your time and look forward to getting the box.

a) send to a PO Box in Calif?
b) why not include this in Paypal message?
c) you're moving in the next 3-4 days, in the middle of the month?
d) forwarding US mail won't find you?

just curious, are there problems with false ID's in Ebay doing scams like this? anyone know?
this has the smell of someone sitting in Calif picking up deliveries at a PO Box.

"I'd like to apologize to one person in particular, the man who won the 'name the team' contest and got lifetime season tickets.''

- Pittsburgh Maulers President Paul Martha, whose USFL club folded after one season.

Comments

• Options
    sagardsagard Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭
    Paypal won't cover your back if you send to any other address. Of course they probably will not cover you anyways, but that is another topic.

• Options
    Call me suspicious but I would cancel the sale myself. (JMO) It all sounds a little weird to me. Why is this guy buying baseball cards online if he is moving in 3-4 days? Like sagard said, PayPal wont cover you if it's sent to any other address I think.